update

    Feeling very fallish out, crisp and cool, and nasty uber-rain, with hurricanes and tropical storms popping out of whatever woodwork they can find. We’ve lucked out stormwise, so far. Of course, today’s rain, not a storm, may make up for it

    School is in full swing. Now I just have to make sure I do it.

    The writing forum is having a horror short story contest. Horror’s not my thing, but I’ll give it a go. We have a picture (a prompt) to play with in the story. Last contest I entered, the annual summer short story contest, the forum got upgraded, and that messed everything up. Only 2 entrants made it through.

    I’ve got 15 of the 24 chapters of my 1st book (The Bridge Door) critiqued, with friend Doug also critiquing (He’s up to 12).

    Labor Day? I labored—cleaning the apartment. Little kids, even the 4-legged kind, can be very messy when they want to.

    Not wearing the brace as much as I’m supposed to (which is pretty much 24/7). I’m still having problems getting it to stay put once on. It either slides down so the bottom is bouncing off my foot (Observed when put on over sweat pants) or the top half slides enough for a strap to cover the front of my knee, causing bruising and pain while worn, also making knee-bending very difficult, not fun going up or down stairs (scenario—body weight goes forward, leg doesn’t because it’s locked in place by the strap, and I do a header down; not good). This when it’s under my uniform pants. Been to the VA prosthetics tech, went how the how-tos again with him, and I was doing it right. So, I’ll wear the brace around the apartment or area with short pants, use the cane as necessary, and go without on duty. It’s the best I can do under the circumstances.

About carolynsworld

security officer, library rat, cat lover, into fantasy and some scifi
This entry was posted in everyday life, medical, updates, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

